The Horizon Conference tournament, also known as Motor City Madness, has had bizarre results since moving to Detroit two seasons ago. In fact, the top two seeds have failed to win a single game (0-4). Northern Kentucky and Wright State will attempt to reverse the Detroit curse in the 2018 tournament, which starts Friday at Little Caesar’s Arena.

Here is a quick trivia question before we dive into this year’s field: Name the only past or present Horizon school to ever win a national championship. Despite having Butler and Xavier as past members, the only Horizon team to ever win it all was Loyola Chicago (now in the Valley) in 1963.


2018 Horizon League Tournament Overview

All 10 teams in the league make the conference tournament, with the top six seeds receiving first-round byes. Defending champion Northern Kentucky is the betting favorite to cut down the nets.

Let’s jump into the favorites and potential sleepers within the Horizon League bracket before finishing up with ATS predictions for Friday’s two Horizon games.

Get The Edge


Unlock this article + all the EDGE benefits

Now accepting&

Already an EDGE member? Sign In

Follow Jordan Majewski on Twitter