Updated AFC South Title Odds

Evergreen Header Image
Tennessee Titans
Indianapolis Colts
Jacksonville Jaguars
Houston Texans

The Colts enter the 2022 season as the slight favorites to finish as AFC South champions with +115 odds via Caesars Sportsbook after trading for Matt Ryan during the offseason. 

Last year's winners in Tennessee traded away No. 1 receiver A.J. Brown on NFL Draft Night and haven't brought back Julio Jones, so their air weapons for Ryan Tannehill seem to have taken a hit. But, the return of Derrick Henry could make all of that insignificant, which is why they're still right on Indy's tail at +130.

Jacksonville (+700) has a tough road ahead and seem a few years away still from competing unless Trevor Lawrence takes a huge leap this season. Meanwhile, the Texans are heavy longshots at +3500 after trading away Deshaun Watson and their disheartening schedule being released.

Though it appears to be a two-team race, it's one that looks to go down to the wire and be exciting from start to finish.

Odds via Caesars and updated in real-time.

Preseason Updates

July 20: Odds have remained firm on the Colts after the Titans' moves. How much does Matt Ryan still have in the tank? The implied probability remains at 50% that the Colts win this division for the first time since 2014.

May 18: After Draft Night saw the Titans traded away A.J. Brown and the schedules were released, the Colts leapfrogged the Titans to take the favored odds of +100 to win the AFC South, while the Titans fell to +130. The Jags and Texans dropped even further to +700 and +3500, respectfully.

April 21: After a long month filled with trades all across the league, the Colts acquired Matt Ryan and closed the gap with the Titans to +115 and +125, while the Jags and Titans stood pat.

Feb. 28: The Titans began the offseason as the +100 favorites to repeat as division champs, with the Colts (+140) behind them and the Jags (+550) and Texans (+2500) a ways away.

Tennessee TitansTitans
Indianapolis ColtsColts
Jacksonville JaguarsJaguars
Houston TexansTexans

Past AFC North Winners

Odds via Sports Odds History prior to Week 1 of that season.

The Colts have the most AFC South titles since the division was created back in 2002, but the Titans and Texans have claimed their fair share of crowns as well. Meanwhile, the Jaguars have just one to their name.

Year Team Record Odds
2002 Tennessee Titans 11–5 +140
2003 Indianapolis Colts 12–4 +150
2004 Indianapolis Colts 12–4 -150
2005 Indianapolis Colts 14–2 -400
2006 Indianapolis Colts 12–4 -500
2007 Indianapolis Colts 13–3 -300
2008 Tennessee Titans 13–3 +800
2009 Indianapolis Colts 14–2 +130
2010 Indianapolis Colts 10–6 -175
2011 Houston Texans 10–6 +125
2012 Houston Texans 12–4 -500
2013 Indianapolis Colts 11–5 +240
2014 Indianapolis Colts 11–5 -175
2015 Houston Texans 9–7 +450
2016 Houston Texans 9–7 +160
2017 Jacksonville Jaguars 10–6 +500
2018 Houston Texans 11–5 +200
2019 Houston Texans 10–6 +175
2020 Tennessee Titans 11–5 +180
2021 Tennessee Titans 12–5 -110

Texans logoHouston Texans

An expansion team from 2002, the Texans took some years to develop before becoming a team to be reckoned with during the 2010s thanks to a scary defense led by three-time DPOY JJ Watt. Houston won the AFC South six times during the decade, with the latter years seeing quarterback Deshaun Watson come onto the scene and almost send them to the AFC Championship in 2019. However, Watson's time in Houston appears to be over due to some off-field issues, and with Watt already out of the picture, the Texans look ready for a rebuild.

  • Playoff Berths: 6
  • Division Titles: 6
  • AFC Championships: 0
  • Super Bowl Championships: 0

Colts logoIndianapolis Colts

Johnny Unitas brought the franchise their first Super Bowl title back in 1970 when they were based out of Baltimore, defeating the Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowl V. After a few decades of relevance but not too much success, everything changed when the Colts, now in Indianapolis, drafted Peyton Manning No. 1 overall in the 1998 draft. After he threw both the most touchdowns and most interceptions by a rookie QB, Manning went off, winning four MVPs, two OPOYs, and bringing home his first Super Bowl in 2006, when the Colts, led by head coach Tony Dungy, beat the Chicago Bears, 29-17. The Colts thought they had brought in the right successor after Manning's departure in 2012 with No. 1 overall pick Andrew Luck, but although he was a stud at times on the field, he couldn't recreate Manning's success and ultimately retired early due to injuries and to focus on family. The Colts are still looking for their next man under center.

  • Playoff Berths: 24
  • Division Titles: 15
  • AFC Championships: 3
  • Super Bowl Championships: 2

Jaguars logoJacksonville Jaguars

Like the Cleveland Browns (though not nearly as bad a situation), the Jaguars have been looking for the right quarterback since their inception in 1995. From Mark Brunell to Byron Leftwich to David Garrard to Blake Bortles and more, Jacksonville has been home to quite a few starting quarterbacks over the years. They've made a few AFC Championship games in the past, but for the most part, the Jags have found themselves outside of the playoff picture. Jacksonville selected top tier prospect Trevor Lawrence with the No. 1 overall pick in the 2021 draft and are hoping he'll develop into the star he's expected to be...but only time will tell.

  • Playoff Berths: 7
  • Division Titles: 3
  • AFC Championships: 0
  • Super Bowl Championships: 0

Titans logoTennessee Titans

A storied franchise known as the Oilers from the 1970s up until 1998, the Titans have been competing in the AFC for over 50 years...and just one conference championship to show for it. The Titans matched up agains the Rams in 1999 for one of the greatest Super Bowls of all-time that ended with Mike Jones' tackle of Kevin Dyson at the one-yard line on the final play of the game becoming known as "The Tackle," and St. Louis winning the game. Since those Steve McNair days, the likes of Vince Young, Marcus Mariota and now Ryan Tannehill have been the only consistent starters over the last 15 years. But Tennessee is a running team at the moment, with Derrick Henry -- arguably the best running back in the game when healthy -- ready to go for 2022.

  • Playoff Berths: 20
  • Division Titles: 7
  • AFC Championships: 1
  • Super Bowl Championships: 0
NFL AFC South Title Odds FAQs
Can I bet on NFL division title winners?
Right Arrow
How do NFL odds work?
Right Arrow
What teams are in the AFC South?
Right Arrow
What does winning a division title mean?
Right Arrow
Who's won the most AFC South titles?
Right Arrow
Who won the AFC South in 2021?
Right Arrow