Texas Sports Betting
Texas lawmakers introduced a sports betting bill in 2019, but it didn’t go anywhere. Texas lawmakers have shown a hesitancy to support any kind of casino expansion legislation, but when they reconvene in January 2021, Wallach thinks there’s a good chance something gets done.

More information about Texas Sports Betting coming soon.
AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas
Best BooksBest TX Books & Apps
How to BetHow to Bet in TX
FAQTX Sports Betting FAQ
Legal ReviewLegal Sports Betting Review
LocationsSports Betting Locations in TX

Sports Betting is not available in Texas.

Go Back to See All the States

Texas Sports Betting - The Latest Highlights

Texas Sports Betting Could Be a 2021 Reality, GOP Power Broker Says

Texas could be among a dozen states seriously considering legal sports betting next year, said state government consultant and GOP power broker Phil Cox during a recent gaming industry event

Texas Casino Hopes Sparked by Las Vegas Sands Lobbyists Push

Las Vegas Sands Corp. has hired a powerhouse team of some of Texas’ most well-connected lobbyists in what could be a push to open the first casinos in the nation’s largest state without full-scale commercial gambling.  

A Constitutional Amendment Proposed

The latest bill related to Sports betting is called Texas HJR 61 and calls for a constitutional amendment to allow sports betting in Texas:

"The legislature by law may authorize and regulate the placing of wagers on professional and collegiate sports.”  

We'll size up the Texas sports betting scene as information is available below.

Texas Sports Legislation TBD
We'll evaluate Texas' sports betting bill as it becomes available.

Mobile Betting Options: TBD

Along with the rest of sports betting, mobile betting is not yet live in TX.

Deposit: TBD

We'll have to see how deposits are set as the Texas sports betting market takes shape.

Fair Pricing: TBD

Fair pricing evaluation is still pending overall legalization progress in TX.

Sport Offerings: TBD

We don’t know exactly what sports will be offered as betting options in Texas yet, so we're waiting to grade.

Texas Sports Betting Positives

More information about Texas Sports Betting to come.

Texas Sports Betting Negatives

More information about Texas Sports Betting to come.

Is sports betting legal in Texas?

Currently, sports betting is not allowed in Texas.

Is Daily Fantasy Sports Legal in Texas?


What are the closest legal sports betting states relative to Texas?

New Mexico and Arkansas.

Texas Sports Betting Tips

Sports Betting for Texas Beginners

If you’re new to sports betting in TX, you likely have questions: How much should you be betting? Where should you be betting on the Dallas Cowboys?

Our betting education hub can help you make savvier decisions come game time.

Sports Betting Glossary

Sports betting comes with its own language and terminology -- favorites and underdogs, over/unders and props, and so much more. It can all be a bit overwhelming and intimidating for newer betting enthusiasts, so be sure to consult our sports betting glossary for detailed definitions of all the main terms.

Sports Betting Mistakes to Avoid

Whether you’re betting on Mavericks game totals or Astros futures, sports betting isn't easy. It’s important to stay disciplined and not overextend yourself. If you stay true to our nine mistakes to avoid, your sports betting experience will be a much more enjoyable one.

Texas Sports Betting Timeline


Rep. Eddie Lucio filed H 1275, a bill which would authorize and regulate sports wagering


Representative Eddie Lucio III brings Texas HJR61forward: a constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to legalize sports betting.
Texas Sports Betting Locations
There are plenty of Casinos in Texas:

There are lenty of college and pro teams in Texas to bet on.

Betting on College Football in Texas

SMU Mustangs

The SMU Mustangs football program is a college football team that represents Southern Methodist University. The team competes in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the American Athletic Conference, playing at Gerald J. Ford Stadium.

SMU Mustangs Website | Schedule | Roster  

Texas A&M Aggies

The Texas A&M Aggies football program represents Texas A&M University in the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference. They play at Kyle Field.

Aggies Website | Schedule | Roster

Houston Cougars

The Houston Cougars football program represents the University of Houston and is a member of the American Athletic Conference West Division.

Cougars Website | Schedule | Roster

NCAA DI Basketball & Football

Abilene Christian Wildcats
Incarnate Word Cardinals
Baylor Bears and Lady Bears
Lamar Cardinals and Lady Cardinals
Houston Cougars
North Texas Mean Green
Houston Baptist Huskies
Prairie View A&M Panthers and Lady Panthers

NCAA DI Basketball & Football

Rice Owls
UTEP Miners
Texas Longhorns
UTSA Roadrunners
Texas A&M Aggies
TCU Horned Frogs and Lady Frogs
Texas State Bobcats
Sam Houston State Bearkats

Pro Sports Teams

Dallas Cowboys (NFL)
Dallas Mavericks (NBA)
Dallas Renegades (XFL)
Dallas Stars (NHL)
Dallas Wings (NWBA)
FC Dallas (MLS)
Houston Astros (MLB)
Houston Dash (NWSL)
Houston Dynamo (MLS)
Houston Rockets (NBA)
Houston Texans (NFL)
Rangers (MLB)
San Antonio Spurs (NBA)

NFL Betting in Texas

Texas is home to two professional football teams:

Dallas Cowboys: Cowboys Website | Schedule | Roster 

Houston Texans: Texans Website | Schedule | Roster 

NBA Betting in Texas

There are three professional basketball teams in Texas:

Houston Rockets: Rockets Website | Schedule | Roster 

Dallas Mavericks

Mavericks Website | Schedule | Roster 

San Antonio Spurs: Spurs Website | Schedule | Roster

NHL Betting in Texas

Texas has one professional hockey team, the Stars:

Dallas Stars: Stars Website | Schedule | Roster

MLB Betting in Texas

The Rangers and Astros are Texas' two professional baseball teams:

Texas Rangers: Rangers Website | Schedule | Roster 

Houston Astros: Astros Website | Schedule | Roster 

MLS Betting in Texas

Texas has two pro Soccer teams:

Houston Dynamo: Dynamo Website | Schedule | Roster  

FC Dallas: FC Dallas Website | Schedule | Roster

Other Events

In addition to traditional and regular-season sporting events, Texas also is home to:

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic - College Football

The Cotton Bowl Classic is scheduled to be played on December 30, 2020, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX.

Steve Petrella is a senior editor for The Action Network covering college football, among other things. He's a Penn State grad now based in Atlanta who enjoys great punting, clock-killing drives and turnovers in the red zone.