Abraham Ancer Given Late Penalty to Drop on Masters Leaderboard

Abraham Ancer Given Late Penalty to Drop on Masters Leaderboard article feature image
Credit:

Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images. Pictured: Abraham Ancer

Hours after the first round of the 2021 Masters Tournament had concluded, Abraham Ancer was given a two-stroke penalty after he “unknowingly touched the sand before making his third stroke from the greenside bunker,” according to an official statement.

The penalty was found on the 15th hole, a par 5. Ancer originally made a bogey on the hole, but the penalty made for a triple. The result ended with Ancer going from 1-over and tie for 20th all the way down to a tie for 52nd.

Ancer tweeted a statement after the ruling and included video of what the tournament needed an infraction.

The penalty creates a ripple effect in the betting community. Because it’s  a major tournament, many sportbooks feature an extended menu of options. That includes finishing positions for the first round beyond the first-round leader. If someone bet on Ancer to finish the first round in the top-20, that would now be graded a loss.

It could’ve impacted a first-round matchup depending on what your sportsbook offered. It did not impact one of the options, which was Ancer against Hideki Matsuyama. It did move Ancer from two strokes behind Shane Lowry in a full tournament matchup to four strokes back heading into the second round.

Ancer was around 100-1 at sportsbooks to win the tournament. He trails leader Justin Rose by 11 strokes. Ancer is still inside the current cut line of +4.

Win $150 if DJ makes a birdie, more!

See all the best Masters promos

Bet $1+, Get $100 free INSTANTLY

Bet $10, Win $100 if your golfer breaks 100

How would you rate this article?