2023 Open Championship Saturday TV Schedule: How to Watch, Stream Round 3

2023 Open Championship Saturday TV Schedule: How to Watch, Stream Round 3 article feature image

Douglas P. DeFelice/Getty Images. Pictured: Brian Harman

The 2023 Open Championship rolls on Saturday, with Brian Harman staked to a five-shot lead entering the round. He begins the day five up on second-place Tommy Fleetwood, and seven clear of a few players tied for fourth at -3.

Unlike last weekend's Scottish Open conclusion, the weekend coverage of the British Open is straightforward and accessible. The TV coverage begins at 5 a.m. ET on Saturday on USA Network, then switches to NBC two hours later for the rest of the round, which is slated to end around 3 p.m. ET.

Saturday TV & Streaming Schedule

Saturday TV

  • 5-7 a.m. ET: USA Network
  • 7 a.m.-3 p.m. ET: NBC

Sunday will feature a similar schedule as Saturday, but the coverage (and tournament) are bumped up an hour.

Streaming Online

NBC is streaming the entire tournament — with a simulcast, featured groups, specific holes and more — on Peacock, with a subscription required. You can also try YouTube TV or Fubo TV to get access to USA Network and NBC for this weekend's action.

British Open Odds Entering Saturday

Odds via bet365. Last updated Friday at 3:15 p.m. ET.

Brian Harman of course enters Saturday as the favorite at 6/4, or +150 in American odds. Tommy Fleetwood is the only other player in the single digits at 4/1, with Rory McIlroy next at 11/1.

Brian Harman6/4
Tommy Fleetwood4/1
Rory McIlroy11/1
Jordan Spieth16/1
Min Woo Lee18/1
Sepp Straka18/1
Jason Day20/1
Wyndham Clark20/1
Cameron Young33/1
Max Homa40/1
Viktor Hovland40/1
Emiliano Grillo66/1
Hideki Matsuyama75/1
Jon Rahm80/1
Nicolai Hojgaard80/1
Scottie Scheffler80/1
Tom Kim90/1
Adrian Otaegui100/1
Shubhankar Sharma100/1
Cameron Smith110/1
Henrik Stenson110/1
Richard Bland110/1
Laurie Canter125/1
Matthew Jordan125/1
Guido Migliozzi150/1
Thriston Lawrence150/1
Tyrrell Hatton150/1
Brooks Koepka175/1
Matthew Southgate175/1
Xander Schauffele175/1
Alexander Bjork200/1
Antoine Rozner225/1
Rickie Fowler225/1
Stewart Cink225/1
Byeong-Hun An250/1
Matt Fitzpatrick250/1
Patrick Cantlay250/1
Adrian Meronk300/1
Corey Conners300/1
Jordan Smith350/1
Patrick Reed350/1
Thomas Pieters350/1
Alex Noren400/1
Bryson DeChambeau400/1
Sungjae Im400/1
Thomas Detry400/1
Abraham Ancer500/1
Joost Luiten500/1
Louis Oosthuizen500/1
Robert MacIntyre500/1
Adam Scott600/1
Gary Woodland600/1
Marcel Siem600/1
Michael Stewart600/1
J.T. Poston750/1
Kurt Kitayama750/1
Brendon Todd1000/1
Christiaan Bezuidenhout1000/1
Padraig Harrington1000/1
Romain Langasque1000/1
Oliver Wilson1500/1
Rikuya Hoshino1500/1
Ryan Fox1500/1
Alex Fitzpatrick2000/1
Andrew Putnam2000/1
Victor Perez2000/1
Zach Johnson2000/1
Brandon Robinson Thompson2500/1
Danny Willett2500/1
David Lingmerth2500/1
Hurly Long2500/1
Richie Ramsay2500/1
Scott Stallings2500/1
Zack Fischer2500/1

History of the Open

The Open Championship, often referred to simply as the Open, is one of the four major championships in professional golf. It is one of the oldest and most prestigious tournaments in the sport. The championship is organized by The R&A, the governing body for golf worldwide (except in the United States and Mexico), and it is typically held in the United Kingdom.

The history of The Open Championship dates back to 1860 when it was first played at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. The tournament was conceived by a group of Scottish golfers, including the legendary Old Tom Morris, who was instrumental in organizing the event. The early championships were primarily contested by Scottish professionals and a few English players.

In the early years, the format of the championship was different from what it is today. The initial tournament at Prestwick was played over three rounds of the twelve-hole course, with the winner receiving the Challenge Belt, a red leather belt with a silver buckle. The winner of the belt in 1860 was Willie Park Sr., a prominent golfer of his time.

To avoid the situation of the winner keeping the belt permanently, it was decided to introduce a new trophy, the Claret Jug, which is still awarded to the champion today. The Claret Jug was first presented to the winner in 1873 when Tom Kidd emerged victorious. Since then, it has become one of the most iconic trophies in golf.

In 1872, The Open was hosted outside of Scotland for the first time when it was played at Prestwick Golf Club, Royal St. George's Golf Club in England, and The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews in Scotland. This rotation continued for several years until other golf clubs around the UK started hosting the tournament.

In 1892, Harold Hilton, an English amateur, became the first amateur golfer to win The Open. The championship continued to evolve, with more international players participating and capturing titles. Notable golfers who have achieved great success at The Open Championship include Harry Vardon, James Braid, Bobby Jones, Walter Hagen, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, and Tiger Woods, among others.

During the two World Wars, The Open was suspended, but it resumed after each conflict, continuing to grow in popularity and prestige. The tournament has seen numerous memorable moments, including the "Duel in the Sun" between Tom Watson and Jack Nicklaus at Turnberry in 1977, and the "Claret Jug" battles between players like Nick Faldo and Greg Norman in the 1980s and 1990s.

The Open Championship is unique among the major championships as it is traditionally played on links courses, which are known for their natural coastal terrain and challenging conditions. Each year, the venue for The Open rotates among various renowned links courses in the United Kingdom.

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.