2019 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Odds: Kyler Murray, Dwayne Haskins Trending Up

2019 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Odds: Kyler Murray, Dwayne Haskins Trending Up article feature image

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports. Pictured: Kyler Murray.

  • Number one pick Kyler Murray (+175) is the substantial favorite for the 2019 Offensive Rookie of the Year award.
  • Dwayne Haskins (+750) has also seen his odds improve since opening, as he could be named the Redskins' starting QB depending on how the preseason goes.

The NFL preseason is sort of underway, but will truly get started this week with a full slate of action. While preseason games probably won’t lead to MVP odds changing all that much, Rookie of the Year odds could certainly swing quite a bit.

Since opening, we’ve already seen some significant movement towards the top of the odds list. Shockingly enough, Kyler Murray’s stock has risen …

2019 Offensive Rookie of the Year Odds

Kyler Murray

Not surprisingly, Murray has been a very popular choice thus far. Though there’s not much value left in his odds, which are approaching even-money, he’s one of, if not the only rookie QB in the clear driver’s seat as we enter the preseason. For more Murray details, I’d suggest reading Ian Hartitz’s article below, as he knows way more football intricacies than I do.

Dwayne Haskins

Haskins is the other quarterback who could very well begin the year as his team’s starter, though Case Keenum or Colt McCoy could also get the nod in the early going. He’s not as flashy of a choice as Murray and has no Heismans to his name, but he did open the offseason with a four times greater payout than the favorite. If he is named the Week 1 starter, I imagine his odds will move even further.

David Montgomery

New Chicago Bears RB David Montgomery has also seen some solid action, moving from +1400 to +1000 thus far. Given the Jordan Howard trade, Montgomery should fit into the Bears’ system nicely and is getting rave reviews at camp. While the Howard trade may have some people thinking about Tarik Cohen, Montgomery has the build of a back that should get more carries than the diminutive Cohen.


As for those whose odds have gotten worse, we can start with all of the tight ends. TJ Hockenson, Noah Fant and Irv Smith have all fallen down the board by quite a bit — perhaps people realized that the only tight end to win this award was Mike Ditka in 1961.

Oakland’s Josh Jacobs is the only name near the top of the list whose odds haven’t increased since opening. However, running backs have won this award in three of the past four seasons and nine times this century, the most of any position.

Kansas City’s WR Mecole Hardman has also taken a hit, likely due to Tyreek Hill’s non-suspension.

How would you rate this article?