Raptors-Warriors Game 6 Referee Controversy: Was Draymond Green Behind the Line?
Credit: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports. Pictured: Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green (23) during the 2019 NBA Finals at Oracle Arena.
- Draymond Green's corner 3 in the first half of Game 6 may seem like a meaningless shot to some, but it meant a ton to bettors on Thursday night.
- Matt Moore explains the behind-the-line controversy.
In Game 6 of the Finals, something rare occurred.
Draymond Green made a 3.
Except, well, it remained rare, because it wasn’t counted as a 3.
Let’s go to the tape!
This shot was ruled a 2, thus losing GSW ML 1Q bettors their bets instead of a push 👀 pic.twitter.com/DbzZrNXtQ1
— The Action Network (@ActionNetworkHQ) June 14, 2019
- Warriors first-quarter ML backers (-138)
- Draymond Green over 0.5 made 3-pointers (if Green doesn’t hit one in the second half)
It also weighs heavy for a game that’s within three points at half. The play was not reviewed or assessed by the NBA’s official officiating Twitter account as such reviews often are.
It’s surprising that a play of this significance, that was this close, was not reviewed. Not that it’ll make those bettors feel any better.
UPDATE: With nine seconds left in Game 6, the Warriors had the ball down and were one point, meaning if the Draymond 3 had been ruled correctly in the first quarter, the game would’ve been tied. A lot happened in between the missed call and the end of the game to alter the outcome. (Green appeared to tip a ball in while it was over the cylinder in the second half, for example.) But it re-emphasizes the importance of reviewing questionable calls when it’s an option, as the result impacts the teams and bettors alike.