Larry Fitzgerald, Michael Vick Highlight College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Nominees

Larry Fitzgerald, Michael Vick Highlight College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Nominees article feature image

George Gojkovich/Getty Images. Pictured: Former Pitt wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald.

Pitt wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, Virginia Tech quarterback Michael Vick and Ole Miss offensive lineman Michael Oher headline the nominees for the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024, announced by the National Football Foundation on Monday.

Fitzgerald, Oher and Vick were among seven candidates nominated in their first year of eligibility. The others were Wisconsin running back Montee Ball, Minnesota center Greg Eslinger, Texas defensive back Michael Huff and Arizona State defensive end Terrell Suggs.

In all, 78 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 32 coaches from the divisional ranks were on the ballot.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.62 million people have played college football and only 1,074 players have been inducted,” NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell said. “Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game.”

The must-have app for college football bettors

The best NCAAF betting scoreboard

Free picks from proven pros

Live win probabilities for your bets

Among the biggest FBS names on the ballot include:

Quarterbacks: Matt Cavanaugh (Pitt), Tim Couch (Kentucky), Ken Dorsey (Miami), Graham Harrell (Texas Tech), Josh Heupel (Oklahoma), Ryan Leaf (Washington State), Kellen Moore (Boise State), Antwaan Randle El (Indiana), Alex Smith (Utah) and Michael Vick (Virginia Tech).

Running backs: Eric Bieniemy (Colorado), Ki-Jana Carter (Penn State), Kenneth Davis (TCU), D.J. Dozier (Penn State), Warrick Dunn (Florida State), Toby Gerhart (Stanford), Montee Ball (Wisconsin), Garrison Hearst (Georgia), Craig Heyward (Pitt) and Marshawn Lynch (Cal).

Wide receivers: Justin Blackmon (Oklahoma State), Larry Fitzgerald (Pitt), Willie Gault (Tennessee), Marvin Harrison (Syracuse), Herman Moore (Virginia), Taylor Stubblefield (Purdue) and Peter Warrick (Florida State).

Offensive linemen: Flozell Adams (Michigan State), Greg Eslinger (Minnesota), Steve Hutchinson (Michigan), Michael Oher (Ole Miss) and Chris Ward (Ohio State).

Defensive linemen: Jerome Brown (Miami), Brad Culpepper (Florida), Dan Hampton (Arkansas), Julius Peppers (North Carolina), Dewey Selmon (Oklahoma), Richard Seymour (Georgia) and Terrell Suggs (Arizona State).

Linebackers: James Laurinaitis (Ohio State), Ken Norton Jr. (UCLA), Paul Posluszny (Penn State), Simeon Rice (Illinois) and Ron Rivera (Cal).

Defensive backs: Mark Carrier (USC), Michael Huff (Texas), Antonio Langham (Alabama), Todd Lyght (Notre Dame), Terence Newman (Kansas State), Kevin Smith (Texas A&M) and Dennis Thurman (USC).

The biggest names among the non-FBS division nominees include Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards, Towson punter Sean Landeta and Marshall wide receiver Randy Moss.

There were nine FBS coaches nominated: Larry Blakeney (Troy); Jim Carlen (West Virginia, Texas Tech and South Carolina); Pete Cawthon Sr. (Austin College and Texas Tech); Larry Coker (Miami and UTSA); Mark Dantonio (Cincinnati and Michigan State); Ralph Friedgen (Maryland); Darryl Rogers (Cal State East Bay, Fresno State, San Jose State, Michigan State, Arizona State); Frank Solich (Nebraska, Ohio); and Tommy Tuberville (Ole Miss, Auburn, Texas Tech and Cincinnati).

To be eligible for the College Football Hall of Fame, players must have been named a first-team All-American, and at least 10 seasons must have passed since his college career ended. Coaches must have been a head coach for at least 10 years, coached at least 100 games and have a .600 winning percentage.

Also, individuals playing or coaching at the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

The College Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024 will be announced in January. The Class of 2024 will be officially inducted Dec. 10, 2024, at the 66th National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner in Las Vegas.

Here are the 78 FBS players on the Class of 2024 ballot:

OT Flozell Adams, Michigan StateOL Steve Hutchinson, Michigan
RB Montee Ball, WisconsinLB Bradie James, LSU
DB Aaron Beasley, West VirginiaOG Ed King, Auburn
RB Eric Bieniemy, ColoradoLB Levon Kirkland, Clemson
WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma StateC Olin Kreutz, Washington
DT Jerome Brown, MiamiDB Antonio Langham, Alabama
SE Larry Burton, PurdueLB James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
LB Rocky Calmus, OklahomaQB Ryan Leaf, Washington State
LB Gregg Carr, AuburnK John Lee, UCLA
DB Mark Carrier, USCOL Andy Levitre, Oregon State
RB Ki-Jana Carter, Penn StateDB Todd Lyght, Notre Dame
DB Russell Carter, SMURB Marshawn Lynch, Cal
QB Matt Cavanaugh, PittWR Herman Moore, Virginia
TE Dallas Clark, IowaQB Kellen Moore, Boise State
LB Marco Coleman, Georgia TechDB Terence Newman, Kansas State
QB Tim Couch, KentuckyDT Haloti Ngata, Oregon
DT Brad Culpepper, FloridaLB Ken Norton Jr., UCLA
RB Kenneth Davis, TCUOL Michael Oher, Ole Miss
WR Jarett Dillard, RiceDE Julius Peppers, North Carolina
QB Ken Dorsey, MiamiLB Paul Posluszny, Penn State
RB D.J. Dozier, Penn StateQB Antwaan Randle El, Indiana
RB Vaughn Dunbar, IndianaLB Simeon Rice, Illinois
RB Warrick Dunn, Florida StateLB Ron Rivera, Cal
C Greg Eslinger, MinnesotaLB Matt Russell, Colorado
CB Deon Figures, ColoradoWR Larry Seivers, Tennessee
WR Larry Fitzgerald, PittDL Dewey Selmon, Oklahoma
WR Willie Gault, TennesseeDT Richard Seymour, Georgia
RB Toby Gerhart, StanfordQB Alex Smith, Utah
DT Dan Hampton, ArkansasLB Darrin Smith, Miami
LB Kevin Hardy, IllinoisCB Kevin Smith, Texas A&M
QB Graham Harrell, Texas TechLB Takeo Spikes, Auburn
OG Leotis Harris, ArkansasWR Taylor Stubblefield, Purdue
KR/WR Marvin Harrison, SyracuseDE Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
RB Garrison Hearst, GeorgiaDB Dennis Thurman, USC
QB Josh Heupel, OklahomaQB Michael Vick, Virginia Tech
RB Craig Heyward, PittOT Chris Ward, Ohio State
OG Ken Huff, North CarolinaWR Peter Warrick, Florida State
DB Michael Huff, TexasDB Eric Weddle, Utah
CB Daymeion Hughes, CalK Luis Zendejas, Arizona State

More From Action Network's Brett McMurphy

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.