Download the App Image

Super Bowl 55 MVP Odds: Patrick Mahomes Ahead of Tom Brady as Betting Favorite

Super Bowl 55 MVP Odds: Patrick Mahomes Ahead of Tom Brady as Betting Favorite article feature image

Mark Brown/Getty Images. Pictured: Kansas City Chiefs star Patrick Mahomes.

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes is the betting favorite to win Super Bowl 55 Most Valuable Player award, which would make him just the third player to earn the honor in consecutive years. which would make him just the third player to earn the honor in consecutive years.

According to odds at DraftKings, Mahomes is even money (+100) to win the award, beating out Tom Brady (+200) in the odds. Currently, the star quarterbacks are in a tier of their own on the board.

The order should come as no surprise; it’s generally a quarterback award given to the winning team’s starter and the Chiefs are the betting favorite. However, it might be a surprise that back-to-back MVPs have been so rare.

Bart Starr received the first of two awards with Green Bay, winning Super Bowl I and II. It didn’t happen again until Super Bowl XIII and XIV when Terry Bradshaw won the awards for Pittsburgh. And it hasn’t happened since.

That’s twice out of the nine repeat Super Bowl champions.

Quarterback Tom Brady of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers celebrates in the fourth quarter of the NFC Championship game at Lambeau Field. Photo credit: Dylan Buell/Getty Images.

The Chiefs are looking to be the first repeat title winner since Tom Brady’s New England Patriots did it in Super Bowl XXVIII and XXIX. Brady won the MVP the first year; Deion Branch won MVP the following year.

Should Brady outperform Mahomes and lead Tampa Bay to the crown, it could potentially be his fifth Super Bowl MVP award.

It’s not always a quarterback award, though. In the 15 years since Branch won, five non-quarterbacks have taken the honors. Three receivers have won it: Hines Ward, Santonio Holmes and Julian Edelman. Linebackers Malcolm Smith and Von Miller are the other two winners.

If it’s not a quarterback this year, Mahomes’ two favorite threats are next in line. Tyreek Hill (+1200) and Travis Kelce (+1300) stand alone in the next tier of options before we reach another Tampa Bay player.

The must-have app for NFL bettors

Custom scoreboard for your NFL bets

Free picks from experts

Live win probabilities for every game

Leonard Fournette (+2500) is just ahead of Kansas City rookie running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire (+2800), as well Tampa Bay teammates Mike Evans and Chris Godwin each +3000 odds.

Buccaneers linebacker Devin White (+4000) is the top defensive option.

The oddsboard is robust with just about every possible player listed. Out of 54 previous Super Bowls, the MVP has gone to a quarterback 33 times. Running backs and receivers have each won seven awards. Four linebackers have won Super Bowl MVP.

The rest of the breakdown is as follows: Two defensive ends, two cornerbacks, one safety and a return man.

Odds to win Super Bowl 55 MVP

Player Odds
Patrick Mahomes +100
Tom Brady +200
Tyreek Hill +1200
Travis Kelce +1300
Leonard Fournette +2500
Clyde Edwards-Helaire +2800
Mike Evans +3000
Chris Godwin +3000
Devin White +4000
Tyrann Mathieu +4000
Darrel Williams +4000
Shaq Barrett +5000
Ronald Jones +5000
Mecole Hardman +5000
Antonio Brown +6000
Chris Jones +6600
Rob Gronkowski +7000
Jason Pierre-Paul +7000
Frank Clark +7000
Cameron Brate +8000
Lavonte David +8000
Sammy Watkins +8000
Scotty Miller +10000
Ndamukong Suh +10000
Le’Veon Bell +10000
Willie Gay Jr. +10000
Demarcus Robinson +10000
Juan Thornhill +10000
Ryan Succop +12500
Vita Vea +12500
Jordan Whitehead +12500
Antoine Winfield Jr. +12500
Harrison Butker +12500
Byron Pringle +12500
Daniel Sorensen +12500
Deone Bucannon +15000
Tyler johnson +15000
Ke’Shawn Vaughn +15000
Bashaud Breeland +15000
Rashad Fenton +15000
Anthony Hitchens +15000
Alex Okafor +15000
Anthony Sherman +15000
L’Jarius Sneed +15000
Charvarius Ward +15000
Damien Wilson +15000
Carlton Davis III +20000
Jamel Dean +20000
LeSean McCoy +20000
Kevin Minter +20000
Sean Murphy-Bunting +20000
Tanoh Kpassagnon +20000
Darwin Thompson +20000
Andrew Adams +25000
Antony Auclair +25000
Ross Cockrell +25000
Mike Edwards +25000
William Gholston +25000
Cam Gill +25000
Javon Hagan +25000
Tanner Hudson +25000
Steve McLendon +25000
Jaydon Mickens +25000
Anthony Nelson +25000
Rakeem Nunez-Roches +25000
Pat O’Connor +25000
Ryan Smith +25000
Justin Watson +25000
Gehrig Dieter +25000
Nick Keizer +25000
Marcus Kemp +25000
Ricky Seals-Jones +25000
Deon Yelder +25000
Bradley Pinion +50000
Tommy Townsend +50000

Odds via DraftKings

How would you rate this article?