LIV Golf Invitational Series Field: Dustin Johnson, Sergio Garcia in First Event; Phil Mickelson Not Included

LIV Golf Invitational Series Field: Dustin Johnson, Sergio Garcia in First Event; Phil Mickelson Not Included article feature image

Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images. Pictured: Dustin Johnson & Greg Norman

The long-awaited LIV Golf field has been officially announced for its inaugural event at Centurion Golf Club outside of London, England.

With all the controversy surrounding the new tour, there have been plenty of rumors around who was going to participate and who was not, as the PGA TOUR has threatened to ban players that play in LIV Golf events.

Some notable players quickly came out and said they are staying with the PGA TOUR, including Dustin Johnson. But it appears Johnson has had a change of heart, as he was included in the field for the Saudi-backed league.

There are a total of 42 names that were released Tuesday evening, although there are expected to be 48 players in the field.

Despite all the controversy surrounding his expected inclusion in the LIV Golf Invitational Series, one of the players not currently listed in the field is Phil Mickelson. It's still likely he'll be added before the tournament kicks off on June 9.

Included on the list of 42 names are 16 players ranked inside the top 100 on the Official World Golf Rankings. The other notable names include Louis Oosthuizen, Lee Westwood, Sergio Garcia and Ian Poulter.

Full Field for First Event of LIV Golf Invitational Series

Sorted By OWGR Rank

Dustin Johnson13
Louis Oosthuizen20
Kevin Na33
Talor Gooch34
Sergio Garcia54
Pablo Larrazabal65
Richard Bland66
Matt Jones68
Shaun Norris69
Sam Horsfield72
Lee Westwood74
Ryosuke Kinoshita87
Ian Poulter89
Bernd Wiesberger90
Hudson Swafford91
Oliver Bekker93
Scott Vincent109
Justin Harding111
Laurie Canter114
Branden Grace118
Charl Schwartzel120
Sadom Kaewkanjana125
Hennie Du Plessis128
Phachara Khongwatmai133
Sihwan Kim138
JC Ritchie154
Adrian Otaegui162
Hideto Tanihara173
Martin Kaymer210
Jediah Morgan235
Blake Windred250
Ratchanon ChantananuwatAm
Oliver Fisher>250
Chase Koepka>250
Graeme McDowell>250
Andy Ogletree>250
Turk Petit>250
James PiotAm
Wade Ormsby>250
David PuigAm
Peter Uihlein>250

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.