2019 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Odds: Aaron Donald Favored to Win His 3rd Straight Award

2019 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Odds: Aaron Donald Favored to Win His 3rd Straight Award article feature image

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports. Pictured: Aaron Donald.

  • Aaron Donald (+200) is a hefty favorite to win the 2019 NFL Defensive Player of the Year award, which he has won in each of the past two seasons.

Last year, Aaron Donald took home his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award and truly cemented himself as one of the game’s greats. Khalil Mack’s hot start made him the early frontrunner, but Donald’s dominance down the stretch earned him 45 of the 50 votes for the award. He had zero sacks through three games, but finished with a whopping 20.5 — two shy of the single season record.

Having won two years in a row, Donald is unsurprisingly the preseason favorite at +200. This marks an end to J.J. Watt’s streak of being the favorite for four straight seasons.

With players from the front seven dominating this award in recent years, it’s no surprise to see them also dominate the top of the odds list. The first seven players and 20 of the 22 listed at 50-1 or shorter are defensive linemen or linebackers.

2019 Defensive Player of the Year Odds

Following Donald on the list is last year’s runner-up, Mack. The Bears’ linebacker had an impressive stat line last year despite missing two games: 12.5 sacks, six forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and a pick-six. Mack won this award back in 2016 as a defensive end with the Raiders, though he clearly hasn’t had any issues transitioning to linebacker.

Next up is Watt at +700. After missing the majority of two straight seasons due to injuries, the Texans star played all 16 games last year and recorded 16 sacks to go with seven forced fumbles. He is getting on the older side having turned 30 in the spring, but has a legitimate chance to break a record if he wins the DPOY for the fourth time.

Von Miller, +1000, has always been towards the top of the list of preseason favorites, but has yet to take home the hardware. He has three first team All-Pro nods and a Hall-of-Fame resume, but this award has eluded him and he’s likely on the back nine of his career having also turned 30 in the spring.

The first secondary player listed is strong safety Derwin James of the Chargers. In his rookie season last year, he was named first team All-Pro and one can only assume he will improve with experience. Troy Polamalu was the last safety to win back in 2010. Though three safeties won between 2004 and 2010, only five have won in history dating back to 1971.

Cornerbacks have also won just five times ever, and Charles Woodson is the only winner this century. At 50-1, Jalen Ramsey is the first CB listed and is one of just five total along with Marshon Lattimore, Stephon Gilmore, Tre’Davious White and Richard Sherman.

If you have high expectations for one of the stud rookies, Nick Bosa and Quinnen Williams are both listed at 125-1. If a rookie does manage to win, he would join Lawrence Taylor as the only rookies ever to win this award.

How would you rate this article?