Download the App Image

Rams Botched Snap on Extra Point Creates Prop Grading Confusion for Two-Point Conversions

Rams Botched Snap on Extra Point Creates Prop Grading Confusion for Two-Point Conversions article feature image
Credit:

(Photo by Steph Chambers/Getty Images)

We might have some potential betting controversy after a botched extra point in the second quarter of Super Bowl LVI.

Following Matthew Stafford’s touchdown to Cooper Kupp to take a 13-3 lead, Rams kicker Johnny Hekker fumbled the snap on the point-after attempt, and subsequently threw a pass.

Johnny Hekker fumbled the snap on the failed PAT attempt pic.twitter.com/a4RsKrk8Lw

— Ben Brown (@BenBrownPL) February 14, 2022

Which begs the question: Does this count for bettors who wagered on there to be a missed extra point?

Initial play-by-play ruled it as a conversion attempt, but nothing’s set in stone. Multiple prop bets are at stake based on the ruling. Some surround two-point conversions attempts, while others are on missed extra-points.

PointsBet graded it as a two-point conversion attempt rather than a missed extra point.

The controversy came on the heels of Stafford’s second touchdown pass of the game.

He hooked up with wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. to open the scoring in the first.

Beckham Jr., who was +900 to record the first score of the Super Bowl, also hobbled off in the second with an apparent injury and was ruled questionable to return.

How would you rate this article?