Promotion Banner

NBA Slam Dunk Odds: Mac McClung Favored to Win Saturday’s NBA All-Star Event

NBA Slam Dunk Odds: Mac McClung Favored to Win Saturday’s NBA All-Star Event article feature image

Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images. Pictured: Mac McClung #9 of Team Jason dribbles the ball during Jordan Rising Stars Game as part of 2023 NBA All Star Weekend.

NBA Dunk Contest Odds

Dunker Odds to Win Odds to Advance
Mac McClung +130 -286
Kenyon Martin Jr. +250 -143
Trey Murphy III +300 -112
Jericho Sims +300 -112
Odds as of Saturday and via BetRivers.

The NBA Slam Dunk Contest is the featured event of the evening (despite some groaning from fans) and features four first-time participants: Mac McClung (76ers), Kenyon Martin Jr. (Rockets), Trey Murphy III (Pelicans) and Jericho Sims (Knicks).

This year’s judges include: Jamal Crawford, Lisa Leslie, Harold Miner (two-time Slam Dunk champion), Karl Malone, and Dominique Wilkins (two-time Slam Dunk champ).

Here’s a look the field and the odds to win and advance.

Mac McClung

McClung is having quite a week: He just signed a two-way contract with the Philadelphia 76ers and he’s the favorite to win the Slam Dunk Contest Saturday night. The 6-foot-2 guard is the shortest of the group, but he has been know for his high-flying dunks since high school. He is the first G League player to compete in the Dunk Contest.

Kenyon Martin Jr.

Martin, like his father, Kenyon Martin Sr., is ferocious attacking the rim. He has the next-best odds to win behind McClung and the third-year pro has lived in the paint all season. Martin has 122 total dunks this season, which ranks seventh in the NBA among qualified players.

Trey Murphy III

Murphy is a rangy 6-foot-9 wing player who has his fair share of poster dunks this season. He’s know for his elite 3-point shooting, but Murphy has also tallied 62 throwdowns this season, which puts him one dunk being the likes of LeBron James, Jarred Vanderbilt, Larry Nance Jr., and Onyeka Okongwu.

Jericho Sims

Sims is a replacement for Shaedon Sharpe, who withdrew from the Dunk Contest and probably would be the favorite in this field. Sims, however, has unreal leaping ability — he showed off a 44.5-inch max vertical at the NBA Combine in 2021.

Past Winners

  • 2022 – Obi Toppin
  • 2021 – Anfernee Simons
  • 2020 – Derrick Jones Jr.
  • 2019 – Hamidou Diallo
  • 2018 – Donovan Mitchell
  • 2017 – Glenn Robinson III
  • 2016 – Zach LaVine
  • 2015 – Zach LaVine
  • 2014 – John Wall
  • 2013 – Terrence Ross
  • 2012 – Jeremy Evans
  • 2011 – Blake Griffin
  • 2010 – Nate Robinson
  • 2009 – Nate Robinson
  • 2008 – Dwight Howard
  • 2007 – Gerald Green
  • 2006 – Nate Robinson
  • 2005 – Josh Smith
  • 2004 – Fred Jones
  • 2003 – Jason Richardson
  • 2002 – Jason Richardson
  • 2001 – Desmond Mason
  • 2000 – Vince Carter
  • 1997 – Kobe Bryant
  • 1996 – Brent Barry
  • 1995 – Harold Miner
  • 1994 – Isiah Rider
  • 1993 – Harold Miner
  • 1992 – Cedric Ceballos
  • 1991 – Dee Brown
  • 1990 – Dominique Wilkins
  • 1989 – Kenny Walker
  • 1988 – Michael Jordan
  • 1987 – Michael Jordan
  • 1986 – Spud Webb
  • 1985 – Dominique Wilkins
  • 1984 – Larry Nance

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.