2020 Heisman Odds Tracker: Justin Fields, Trevor Lawrence Lead the Way

2020 Heisman Odds Tracker: Justin Fields, Trevor Lawrence Lead the Way article feature image

Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports. Pictured: Trevor Lawrence

Just a few days after this year’s trophy was awarded to LSU’s Joe Burrow, DraftKings dropped odds for the 2020 Heisman.

The names at the top aren’t a surprise — Ohio State’s Justin Fields and Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence are the only players under 5-1.

The next name on the list is an interesting one — former Houston quarterback D’Eriq King, who redshirted in the middle of this season and will almost certainly transfer. He had 50 total touchdowns in 2018 and could end up in a dynamic offense. Oklahoma has been a rumored destination.

The Sooners’ heir apparent at quarterback Spencer Rattler, the No. 1 quarterback in the Class of 2019, has the same odds as King at +800.

Down the list, things get a little hairy. Chase Young will be in the NFL despite him saying he hasn’t made a decision. Kylin Hill already declared for the draft. There are a bunch of other players on this list who will likely declare early.

Then there are several players who are literally out of eligibility and will not be playing college football next season — Washington State’s Anthony Gordon, Michigan State’s Brian Lewerke and SMU’s James Proche among them.

2020 Heisman Odds

[In New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Indiana or West Virginia? Bet the 2020 Heisman now at DraftKings]

A $100 bet wins the amount listed next to each player. Example: A $100 bet on Justin Fields wins $300, while a $10 bet on Fields wins $30.

Who Can Win the Heisman?

Well, anyone could win the Heisman, in theory. It goes to college football’s best player.

But there are a few key qualifications a player should have. We wrote about them last year.

Be a quarterback or running back

You should really be a quarterback, though. A QB has won every Heisman Trophy but five since 1998, and only three since 2000.

Play at a Power 5 school

No Group of 5 player (MAC, AAC, Sun Belt, Mountain West, Conference USA currently) has won it in the BCS/College Football Playoff era (since 1998).

Win 9 games, but hopefully more

In the BCS/CFP era, only one Heisman winner has won fewer than nine games, and that was Ricky Williams in 1998 on an 8-3 Texas team. Oh, and he set the NCAA record for rushing yards.

Only three Heisman winners since 1998 won fewer than 10 games.

Create an eye-popping statistical profile

Yards per play and other efficiency metrics aren’t really a factor in this race, though they certainly don’t hurt a candidate. But it’s really about raw, eye-popping statistical numbers.

Heisman Betting History

It’s been a good run for Heisman longshots in the last five years, including two 100-1 tickets that cashed, depending on when you bet them — LSU’s Joe Burrow and Louisville’s Lamar Jackson in 2016.

Full List of Players

Justin Fields
Trevor Lawrence
D’Eriq King
Spencer Rattler
Chase Young
Mac Jones
Bo Nix
Clyde Edwards-Helaire
Sam Ehlinger
Sam Howell
Tua Tagovailoa
Jonathan Taylor
Myles Brennan
Adrian Martinez
Jake Fromm
Kedon Slovis
Jaylen Waddle
Stetson Bennett
Spencer Sanders
Taulia Tagovailoa
Ian Book
Ja’Marr Chase
J.K. Dobbins
Kenneth Gainwell
Najee Harris
Tee Higgins
Tyler Huntley
Justin Jefferson
Kellen Mond
Rondale Moore
Justyn Ross
Tylan Wallace
Pooka Williams
Seth Williams
Zamir White
Henry Ruggs III
Devonta Smith
Rashod Bateman
Charlie Brewer
Sean Clifford
Jack Coan
Micale Cunningham
JT Daniels
Feleipe Franks
Anthony Gordon
K.J. Hamler
Javian Hawkins
Kylin Hill
Brian Lewerke
Tate Martell
Racey McMath
Davis Mills
Tanner Morgan
James Proche
Peyton Ramsey
Jacob Sirmon
JD Spielman
Amon-Ra St. Brown
Derek Stingley
Sage Surratt
Kadrius Toney
Kyle Trask
C.J. Verdell
Michael Warren II
Brady White

How would you rate this article?