Can You Bet on the NHL Skills Competition? Odds for Hardest Shot, Fastest Skater, Accuracy, More

Can You Bet on the NHL Skills Competition? Odds for Hardest Shot, Fastest Skater, Accuracy, More article feature image

Getty Images. Pictured: Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid.

It has been two years since we've had an NHL Skills Competition, and legal betting is available in many more states than it was in February of 2020.

So yes, you can bet on the Skills Competition. Most sportsbooks have four events listed:

  • Fastest Skater
  • Accuracy Shooting
  • Hardest Shot
  • Save Streak

Everything gets underway at 7:30 p.m. ET on Friday night on ESPN.

Fastest Skater

Connor McDavidOilers-170
Dylan LarkinRed Wings+370
Cale MakarAvalanche+450
Chris KreiderRangers+900
Kyle ConnorJets+1000
Jordan KyrouBlues+1000
Evgeny KuznetsovCapitals+1500
Adrian KempeKings+1500

*Odds via FanDuel

McDavid won three consecutive fastest skater titles from 2017-2019, but Larkin actually holds the record under this one-lap format — 13.172 seconds — which came in 2016. Matthew Barzal won in 2020 and was just .003 seconds behind Larkin's record.

Makar will be participating for the first time, but don't count him out as he's already shown he's one of the league's fastest players.

Last 5 Winners

  • Matthew Barzal
  • Connor McDavid
  • Connor McDavid
  • Connor McDavid
  • Dylan Larkin

Accuracy Shooting

Leon DraisaitlOilers+400
Troy TerryDucks+550
Sebastian AhoHurricanes+550
Jake GuentzelPenguins+700
Johnny GaudreauFlames+700
Patrice BergeronBruins+750
Jonathan MarchessaultKnights+800
Clayton KellerCoyotes+1000
Rasmus DahlinSabres+1200

*Odds via DraftKings

The Accuracy Shooting event seems to have the most randomness of any competition, as we've seen 12 different winners in the last 12 skills competitions.

Prior to that, Jeremy Roenick and Ray Borque dominated this contest for the better part of a decade.

Last 5 Winners

  • Jaccob Slavin
  • David Pastrnak
  • Brock Boeser
  • Sidney Crosby
  • John Tavares

Hardest Shot

Victor HedmanLightning-120
Adam PelechIslanders+380
Timo MeierSharks+400
Tom WilsonCapitals+550

*Odds via DraftKings

This event has had plenty of repeat winners, but the old guard is no longer at the All-Star Game. Zdeno Chara won for five years in a row, then Shea Weber won three consecutive times.

Last 5 Winners

  • Shea Weber
  • John Carlson
  • Alex Ovechkin
  • Shea Weber
  • Shea Weber

Goalie Save Streak

Andrei VasilevskiyLightning+430
Juuse SarosPredators+500
Frederik AndersenHurricanes+500
Jack CampbellMaple Leafs+500
John GibsonDucks+600
Thatcher DemkoCanucks+750
Tristan JarryPenguins+750
Cam TalbotWild+950

*Odds via FanDuel

Each goaltender faces every shooter from an opposing division during the Breakaway Challenge, and the net-minder with the longest save streak wins. The tiebreaker goes to whoever made the most saves total.

If that's tied, it will go to something called "goalie goals."

Last 3 Winners

  • Jordan Binnington
  • Henrik Lundqvist
  • Marc-Andre Fleury

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.